Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I did horrible, now i need help.

Hello,

I took my ASVAB yesterday and did absolutely horrible. I studied for 3 weeks. All the practice tests i took were a whole lot harder. I actually did well on those. The real test was a lot easier, at least i thought it was. I was extremely confident during the whole test and only struggled on few questions. I guess I was wrong when they printed my score of 35. I scored any where from 70-90 on the practice tests that I took. What the hell happened?!? I took 3 weeks to study due to the fact im 26 and completely forgot all that highschool stuff.The book I used was "The complete idiots guide to the ASVAB" Now i have to wait 30 days to retake. However my recruiter said this month the numbers have dropped so they are going to let people in with a mininum score of 35 so he wants to start getting things ready for me. However i did look up the jobs i qualified for which it was mainly avaition jobs, definitely not for me. I'm shooting for IS or IT. Any advice?

The same thing happened with me. I studied for a month with the ASVAB for Dummies, and was doing very well on my practice tests but when I took the official one, I got a 52 and was seriously thinking about retaking the test. However, I decided that I would see what jobs 52 could get me and after several trips to MEPs I got corpsman. Corpsman isn't what I wanted but it's a really good job but so are the other jobs. So, I think you should go with your score and I bet you'll find something you like. Besides, if it doesn't work out, you could strike out or don't reenlist when your contract is up. You should definitely get in as soon as possible!

Comment

I understand however that score barely qualifies me for anything. Main jobs i got were avaiation. Which is not what i want to do. I plan on retaking it. Any study advice to what i already have mentioned in my first post?

Comment